California Senate Bill 2 (CA SB-2), approved by governor Jerry Brown on September 29, 2017, went into effect on January 1, 2018. The bill imposes a fee of $75 to be paid at the time of the recording of every real estate instrument, paper, or notice required or permitted by law to be recorded, per each single transaction per single parcel of real property. The fees are capped at $225 per recording. Real estate documents recorded in conjunction with the sale of residential and commercial properties are not subject to the fee, rather the fee applies to transactions such as mortgage refinancing and county fixture filings.
For questions about CA SB-2, or to request a breakdown of anticipated costs for an upcoming California real estate document filing, please contact a CLAS Service Representative at 800.952.5696 or firstname.lastname@example.org.